Giving Pop-Zen A Chance

After trying to find mental, physical, and spiritual peace from many traditional literary sources, and failing in the way road-kill failed to adequately cross the highway, I desperately searched in [insert name of large, seemingly-soulless bookstore chain]. I came across a book that I had previously overlooked for its seemingly pop-culture version of Zen Buddhism: Hardcore Zen by Brad Warner. What I failed to realize was, it addressed more issues pertinent to my life than any of the others did, and took itself with a healthy dose of doubt and cynicism.

Perhaps, I am merely a pop-culture whore who cannot recognize spiritual growth when it hits me with a monster truck. However, I would rather think that although this approach is far from conventional, it offers more merits in its ironically down-to-earth style.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Life, Religion, Shopping, Thoughts

2 responses to “Giving Pop-Zen A Chance

  1. I really enjoyed “Hardcore Zen”. I actually read it twice. It hit some points that I needed to hear – and perhaps had heard previously but wasn’t listening to because of the voice – and that gave me a big push in regards to Buddhism.

    He’s got a second book out. I haven’t read it yet but it’s on my list of things to do this year. He’s a got a blog too: http://hardcorezen.blogspot.com/ Good stuff.

    I tagged you for a meme on my blog. Nothing unusual. Very much the same ol’, same ol’. I hope you can find the time to participate
    See the post on my page called “Tagged by TMcG”

    http://nodokusan.wordpress.com/2008/01/07/tagged-by-tmcg/

    Adam

  2. I saw his second book on the shelf, “Sit Down and Shut Up,” but it called to me less than the first. Perhaps I will pick it up when I am done this one.

    Thanks for the link to Brad Warren’s blog and the tag!

Leave a Reply

